Airstream crosses Europe

Stockholm – Madrid: Airstream travels for a good cause

This summer, we are supporting the two Freewheel cyclists Juan and Javi on their challenge to cross Europe by bicycle. As they travel for a good cause and completely at their own expense, we equipped them with two sets of Airstream lights.

Freewheel is the name they gave their campaign, because they celebrate the freedom Europe holds for its inhabitants through its open borders. Equipped with the Airstream, they have left Stockholm on June 1st and plan to arrive in Madrid by the end of the month, after riding more than 4500 km. That makes almost 200 daily kilometers during 30 days, including some stopovers!

Not only will our lights provide them with safety on the road. Thanks to the set of Airstream and Airstream Tail Light, the two will be able to ride any time of day they want to.  While travelling at night, they can avoid the heat during the day in the warmer regions of Europe. During the day, the Airstream with its integrated daytime running light provides safety for the two.

A bicycle offers great potential – this is something the two cyclists from Spain definitely know. The purpose of their trip is to create awareness for the World Bicycle Relief, a non-profit organization that donates the so-called Buffalo Bikes to poor people all over the world in need for a means of transport. As support, the two Freewheelershope to raise funds for the Buffalo Bikes. The donations go directly to World Bicycle Relief– the guys don’t use anything on themselves.

You want to know more?

Follow their daily adventures and read about the backstory of their project! Learn more about the cause, the route and the team or make a donation!

We wish them the best luck!

 

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Pictures: Freewheel

Bikepacking meets Supernova Lights

Part I: A family’s adventure to the other end of the world

 

3,000 km, 2 bicycles, 1 infant, 1 plan and 7 Supernova products – What many other bikepackers would never dare to do, Bombtrackteamrider Joachim Rosenlund’s family just embarked on. They are cycling through New Zealands wilderness for two months – with a small child.

Joachim, his wife Melanie and their meanwhile one-year old daughter Alva have the best cycling equipment with them: The Supernova Lights mounted on their high tech bikes illuminate every corner of the New Zealand Outback during night and day. On board: E3 Triple 2, Airstream and Aistream Tail Light, E3 PRO 2 with E3 Tail Light and The Plug.

There is enought nature to discover in the country of the kiwi birds: Turquoise coloured glacial lakes, high mountains and vast beaches. Enjoy solitude and unique remote landscapes? Nothing easier than that! New Zealand impresses with a country surface as big as Great Britain, shared by only 4.3 million of inhabitants. And 30 million of sheep. A piece of land perfectly suitable for the Rosenlunds’ project.

The route of the three family members follows a simple concept: Gravel Travel, meaning travelling while going astray, far from civilisation and its highways, citys and tourists spots. For that, they are willing to accept a detour or even a turning back. The peaceful vastness of New Zealand is definitely worth the way. Most of the times, they spend entirely three or four days touring in the outback, until another food ration runs out. The small family passes its nights sleeping in a tent or in one of the many small hunters’ huts, some even equipped with fireplaces. In order to do so, the cycling family is taking their time for the tour and enjoying it at a leisurely pace. Time to admire beautiful nature around you – and especially to enjoy watching your little daughter growing and exploring. In order to be well illuminated even after the tour, the Airstream is the perfect partner. By charging The Plug during daytime cycling, the bright light can be easily charged without having any socket.

It has been approximately six weeks since the adventurers started exploring the small insular state in the Southern Pacific, including the well-known Rainbow Road. The 112 km dirt road lies on New Zealand’s Southern island and stretches from Hanmer Springs to St. Arnaud and is famous for its stunning variety of landscapes, from grassland to screes along the Clarence River until the the rugged mountains of the Wairau catchment. The weather conditions can be difficult – often the Rainbow Station in charge declares a warning and informs about one’s own risk to do the trail.

Soon, we’ll tell you more about the endless wilderness of New Zealand.

 

 

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Pictures: Joachim Rosenlund

iF DESIGN AWARD FOR M99 MINI!

6402 aspirants, 54 countries, 7 disciplines in the art of design: Last Friday, the 9th of march 2018, the futuristic BMW Welt in Munich hosted an exiting event: the awards ceremony of the famous iF Design Award. Over 2000 guests from 36 countries celebrated the best products.

OSCAR OF THE DESIGN WORLD

This year, the prize – which has the reputation of an Oscar in the designer circles – was given to a new member of our smart e-bike lights series: the M99 MINI PRO-25. After having won the  Design&Innovation Award 2018, the bright front light is now experiencing a real wave of awards.

The event offers oscar-like characteristics: Each year, several key figures in the world of design forms part of the top-class jury that critically values which of the candidats are worthy of winning the trophy that is already awarded since 1953. Amongst the members there are internationally famous designers like the chef designer of Samsung. And the BMW Welt, being one of Germany’s monumental architectural celebrities, is obviously the adequate place to honour design ideas.

 

“CREATIVE PEOPLE COME IN DIFFERENT SHAPES, SIZES AND MENTAL MODELS.”

Quote from Charles Eames *

 

All different kinds of design are honoured at the iF Design award: From Architecture and Interior Architecture, Service Design, Professional Concepts and Communication up to Packaging and Product Design – the variety is huge. Not to mention the many subcategories of each discipline. Our M99 MINI PRO 25 received a prize in the discipline Product.

MORE OF IT

Winning the iF Design Award means a great honour to his bearers, just like wearing the iF Logo as a trademark for quality design. And we are happy in a double sense: We like to sell our products even more, if they are tested and approved by real experts. The submission for next year’s iF Design Award 2019 is already open – perhaps we take part another time…

 

 

Text: Myriel Hauser

 

*(https://ifworlddesignguide.com/social-impact-and-design)

Airstream durchquert Europa

Freewheel_Airstream_Europatrip

Stockholm – Madrid: Airstream reist für einen guten Zweck

Diesen Sommer unterstützen wir die beiden Radfahrer Juan und Javi von Freewheel bei ihrer Challenge, Europa per Rad zu durchqueren. Da sie für einen guten Zweck unterwegs sind und daher komplett auf eigene Kosten reisen, haben wir die beiden mit zwei Airstream Lichtsets aus unserer Serie ausgestattet.

Freewheel nennen sie ihre Aktion, weil sie vor allem eines zelebrieren: die Freiheit, die Europa durch seine offenen Grenzen für seine Einwohner bietet. Am 1. Juni sind sie in Stockholm mit der Airstream im Gepäck gestartet – die geplante Ankunft in Madrid ist über 4500 km weit vom Anfangspunkt in Schweden entfernt. Mit kurzen Zwischenstopps planen sie mit knapp 200 täglichen Kilometern, und das 30 Tage lang.

Mit den Scheinwerfern sollen sie nicht nur sicher unterwegs sein. Dank des Sets aus Airstream und Airstream Tail Light können die beiden die Nacht zum Tag machen. Nachts unterwegs zu sein, heißt für sie, die Hitze der wärmeren Regionen Europas im Sommer besser vermeiden können. Auch am Tag bringt das integrierte Tagfahrlicht der Airstreams sicher ans Ziel.

Wie viel Potential ein Fahrrad in sich birgt, das haben die beiden Radler aus Spanien bereits erkannt. Mit ihrer Reise wollen sie auf den World Bicycle Relief aufmerksam machen, eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die sogenannte Buffalo Bikes an Menschen auf der ganzen Welt verteilt, um damit deren Lebensstandard anzuheben. Als Support erhoffen sich die beiden Freewheeler Spenden für die Buffalo Bikes. Diese gehen dann direkt an World Bicycle Relief – für die Reise kommen sie selbst auf.

Du bist neugierig geworden?

Folge ihren täglichen Abenteuern und erfahre mehr von der Backstory ihres Projektes! Lese mehr über den World Bicycle Relief oder hinterlasse in ihrem Blog eine Spende:

Wir wünschen viel Erfolg!

 

 

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Bilder: Freewheel

Bikepacking meets Supernova Lights

Teil I: Familientrip ans andere Ende der Welt

 

3000 km, 2 Fahrräder, 1 Kleinkind, 1 Vorhaben und 7 Supernova-Produkte – Was viele andere Bikepacker nicht wagen würden, hat sich die Familie des Bombtrack Teamriders Joachim Rosenlund einfach getraut. Mit den Rädern touren sie für zwei Monate durch die Weiten Neuseelands – mit einem Kleinkind.

Bombtrack Teamrider macht Bikepacking in Neuseeland mit Supernova lights

An Bord haben Joachim, seine Frau Melanie und ihre inzwischen fast einjährige Tochter Alva die beste Bike-Ausrüstung: Auf ihren Hightech-Rädern stecken Supernova-Scheinwerfer und erhellen jeden Winkel des neuseeländischen Outbacks bei Tag und Nacht. Mit dabei: E3 Triple 2, Airstream samt Aistream Tail Light, E3 PRO 2 mit E3 Tail Light und The Plug.

An Natur gibt es im Land der Kiwis mehr als genug zu entdecken: Ob türkisfarbene Gletscherseen, hohe Berge oder weite Strände. Einfach mal keiner Menschenseele begegnen? Nichts leichter als das! Neuseeland beeindruckt mit einer Landfläche etwa so groß wie die Großbritanniens, die sich gerade einmal 4,3 Millionen Bewohner teilen. Allerdings immerhin mit 30 Millionen Schafen. Ein Fleckchen Erde also, das für das Vorhaben der Rosenlunds gerade gut gelegen kommt.

Die Route der drei Familienmitglieder ergibt sich aus einem einfachen Konzept: Gravel Travel, das bezeichnet das Reisen auf Abwegen, abseits von der Zivilisation und jenseits ihrer Highways, Städte und Touri-Spots. Dafür nehmen die Radler gerne mal einen Umweg oder sogar eine Umkehr in Kauf – die friedliche Weite des Naturerlebnisses Neuseeland ist es der Familie definitiv wert. Die Ruhe im Outback verlassen sie dabei nur alle drei bis vier Tage, bis eine weitere Essensration zur Neige geht. Die Nächte verbringt die kleine Familie entweder im Zelt oder in den vielen mit Feuerstellen ausgestatteten Jägerhütten. Dazu nehmen sie sich Zeit auf ihrer Tour, lassen es gemächlich angehen. Zeit, die atemberaubende Natur zu erleben – vor allem aber auch, um ihrer kleinen Tochter beim Großwerden und Erkunden zuzusehen. Damit sie auch nach der täglichen Tour mit einer Lichtquelle ums Zelt herum ausgestattet sind, dafür sorgt die Airstream. Mit The Plug kann der helle Strahler einfach ohne Steckdose aufgeladen werden.

Bikepacking Tour durch Neuseeland mit Supernova Lights

Seit ungefähr sechs Wochen bereisen die drei Abenteurer nun schon den kleinen Inselstaat im südlichen Pazifik, unter anderem die unter Travellern wohlbekannte Rainbow Road. Die 112 km lange Schotterstraße liegt auf der neuseeländischen Südinsel und erstreckt sich von Hanmer Springs bis St. Arnaud. Bekannt ist sie für ihre erstaunliche landschaftliche Vielfalt, von weitem Grasland über die Flusslandschaft entlang des Clarence River bis zu den buchenbewachsenen schroffen Bergen der Wairau River Area. Die Wetterbedingungen sind nicht immer die einfachsten – immer wieder gibt die zuständige Rainbow Station Warnungen aus und weist auf das eigene Risiko hin, das jeder Reisende für sich selbst zu tragen hat.

Bald berichten wir mehr aus den unendlichen Weiten des Outbacks…

 

Bombtrack Teamrider Rosenlund mit Familie beim Bikepacking in Neuseeland

 

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Bilder: Joachim Rosenlund

iF DESIGN AWARD FÜR M99 MINI!

6402 Anwärter, 54 Länder, 7 Disziplinen der Designkunst! In der futuristischen BMW Welt in München fand am vergangenen Freitag, den 9. März 2018, ein ganz besonderes Event statt: die Verleihung des berühmten und begehrten iF Design Award. Zu diesem Anlass feierten über 2000 Gäste aus 36 verschiedenen Ländern der Welt.

OSCAR DER DESIGNBRANCHE

Verliehen wurde dieser in Designkreisen fast schon als „Oscar“ geltende Preis dieses Jahr an den neuen Kleinen aus unserer smarten Reihe der E-Bike-Scheinwerfer: der M99 MINI PRO-25! Nach dem Design&Innovation Award 2018 hat den Strahler nun eine echte Gewinnerwelle erfasst.

Tatsächlich hat die Veranstaltung einen Oscar-ähnlichen Charakter: In der hochkarätigen Jury der seit 1953 vergebenen Trophäe bewerten jährlich echte Größen der Designwelt. Unter den Juroren finden sich regelmäßig international bekannte Designer wie der Designchef von Samsung. Und die BMW Welt als monumentale Design-Berühmtheit in Deutschland ist sicherlich nicht der schlechteste Ort, Designideen zu würdigen.

 

„CREATIVE PEOPLE COME IN DIFFERENT SHAPES, SIZES AND MENTAL MODELS.“

(Zitat von Charles Eames)*

 

Beim iF Design Award werden alle möglichen Arten von Design prämiert: Von Architektur über Service Design, Kommunikation bis hin zu Produkt- und Verpackungsdesign ist eine große Vielfalt vertreten. Ganz zu schweigen von den weiteren Unterkategorien, die jede Disziplin einschließt. In der Disziplin Product hat unser M99 MINI in der Kategorie Bicycle light abgeräumt.

MEHR DAVON

Der iF Design Award jedenfalls ist eine wahre Auszeichnung für seine Träger, das iF Logo ein Markenzeichen für besondere Gestaltung. Und wir freuen uns gleich doppelt, denn umso lieber verkaufen wir Produkte, wenn sie von Experten getestet und als gut empfunden werden. Die Ausschreibung für die Preisvergabe 2019 ist schon geöffnet – vielleicht sind wir ja nächstes Jahr auch wieder dabei…

 

 

Text: Myriel Hauser

 

*(https://ifworlddesignguide.com/social-impact-and-design)