German Innovation Award in Gold for the M99 Tail Light 2

Supernova Design received the German Innovation GOLD Award for their M99 Tail Light. The judging panel was impressed by the innovation, the safety aspects, and the clean design of this e-bike tail light.

Supernova Design received the German Innovation GOLD Award for their M99 Tail Light. The judging panel was impressed by the innovation, the safety aspects, and the clean design of this e-bike tail light.

The M99 Tail Light 2 PRO is the first legally-approved tail light with a homogeneous light signature. The intensity of the outer contour of the light with High-Density LED technology is unique. Importantly, the visibility remains equally high at different viewing angles, unlike in other tail lights. This particular visibility lifts safety for E-bikers to a new level. The judges of the Design Award wrote: “The e-bike is becoming increasingly important as a means of transport in modern road traffic. The innovative M99 Tail Light 2 PRO combines tail and brake light in a robust aluminum housing and, as a structural part of the luggage rack, allows for harmonious integration into the bike design.”

The German Innovation Award honors trendsetting innovations that have a lasting effect on the industry and offer added value for users. This year, there was a total of 700 entries from industry giants, hidden champions, and start-ups.

User experience is the central focus of the evaluation of entries,” said Lutz Dietzold, Managing Director of the German Design Council. “This is a characteristic feature of the German Innovation Award.” Dietzhold went on to say: “Innovative design is particularly successful if future users are involved in product and design development at an early stage. Many companies have recognized this and are seeking to identify real customer needs and then develop economically relevant products based on these needs. The fusion of analogue and digital innovations is becoming increasingly important for the future success of new developments.

The evaluation criteria of the German Innovation Award cover topics such as the level of innovation, user benefits, and economic efficiency. The innovation strategy should consider aspects such as social, ecological, economic sustainability, as well as the use of energy and resources. Factors such as location and employment potential, durability, market maturity, technical quality and function, materiality and synergy-effects also play a decisive role in the judging process. The winners were chosen by an outstanding judging panel which included physicists, patent consultants, computer scientists, financing specialists, product designers, technology historians and marketing professionals. “In this way, we guarantee an individual, neutral and professional evaluation,” emphasized Dietzold.

More Information
M99 TAIL LIGHT 2
M99 Tail Light 2 PRO

Text: Mary Jaksch, Gregor Arndt, Rat für Formgebung | Images: Rat für Formgebung, David Schultheiss, Bixs

How to Ride for Fitness, Friendship, and a Worthwhile Cause

Do you love cycling?

Here at Supernova, we are crazy about turning the cranks. As staff members, we love the fact that Supernova sponsors not only professional cyclists but also recreational riders, like me.

Just recently, Supernova sponsored their small New Zealand team, David ‘Dynamo’ Bagshaw and me, Mary Jaksch, for a 5-day charity ride. With 40 other riders, we followed New Zealand’s most spectacular cycle trail, the Alps2Ocean, which starts high in the Alps and ends by the Pacific Ocean.

David and I raised funds for World Bicycle Relief, which provides simple, sustainable Buffalo Bikes for people in rural Africa. With their donation, Supernova was able to send a complete Buffalo Bike to Africa. This bike will enable a child to travel safely to school and help their family fetch water or take produce to market.

The Alps2Ocean ride was organized by Craig Shipton of 25000Spins who runs charity rides in spectacular locations around the world. It’s a great feeling when you ride for fitness, friendship, and a worthwhile cause! If you dream about cycling in New Zealand, check out the tour photos below.

The first day was a 98km ride from turquoise Lake Tekapo to Lake Ohau, which nestles in a pristine alpine valley surrounded by dramatic, glacial mountains.

From Lake Ohau, the ride started before dawn. The brilliant Airstream 2 illuminated the stony track leading up into the mountains.

Looking back from Tarnbrae High Point, you could catch a glimpse of Mount Cook, New Zealand’s highest mountain.

In the valley, the sag wagon was ready with fruit, energy bars, and water.

Getting closer to civilization, the Supernova team took a detour along corrugated gravel roads.

We went to see the dramatic Clay Cliffs rising from the valley floor.

As the days passed, the landscape changed. The snow-capped mountains were now behind us, and the trail followed long valleys with braided rivers.

The participants took time out to cool off in the bracing river water.

Partway through the final day, the trail went through a disused railway tunnel. A group of cyclists followed closely behind us to take advantage of the light from our super-bright Airstream 2.

Finally, the Supernova team reached the vibrant seaside town of Oamaru: tired but elated. We thank the photographers and the tour organizer, Craig Shipton, of 25000Spins for permission to use their photos. 

Here is a Youtube video of the Alps2ocean tour.

Text: Mary Jaksch | Bildmaterial: Ryan McCutcheon, Trent Watson, Byan Rowe

430km and 6,300km elevation gain in 24 hours

Lukas Kaufmann places 4th in the toughest 24-hour mountain bike race in the USA, using the latest SUPERNOVA front light.

Lukas Kaufmann is a talented young mountain biker who has already caused quite a stir.  SUPERNOVA has sponsored him since the start of 2020. He placed 4th in this year’s “24 HOURS IN THE OLD PUEBLO” in Tucson, Arizona, whilst using the new SUPERNOVA M99 MINI PRO B54 and was thrilled by the extreme brightness of the high beam.

Supernova-1 Kopie

The race track is in the middle of the desert, where there is nothing but sand, stones, and cacti. Lukas took part in the ‘solo’ category.  Over 24 hours, he rode an incredible distance of 430km, with hardly a stop, gaining an elevation of 6,300 meters. By day, he had to battle a temperature of 30 degrees celsius. At night, it got so cold he couldn’t feel his toes.

Lukas Kaufmann was best Austrian at the European Ultra Mountain Bike Marathon Championship in 2018, won the Appenninica MTB Stage Race in Italy in 2019, and came third in the toughest mountain bike marathon in Europe, the Salzkammergut Trophy. Supernova is proud to sponsor him.

Supernova-3

Text: Mary Jaksch | Pictures: Sportograf | Instagram: lukaskaufmann94

“Absolute innovation”: M99 Tail Light 2 wins the German Design Award GOLD 2020

Supernova is a prizewinner. Again!

CEO and Designer Marcus Wallmeyer and Michael Fitzek, one of Supernova’s electronic engineers, were in Frankfurt today at the German Design Award 2020 ceremony to accept the Gold Award won by Supernova’s new M99 Tail Light 2.

The German Design Award is one of the most prestigious design awards in the world and enjoys an excellent reputation far beyond the professional world. With the GOLD Award, Supernova was honored for outstanding product design as the best in its industry.

The M99 Tail Light 2 is a revolutionary e-bike tail light with integrated brake light. It uses an innovative light technology, which raises safety standards to a whole new level. Here is the judges’ statement for the GOLD Award:

The rear light integrated into the luggage carrier combines driving and stop light at five times more brightness and represents an absolute innovation in its class. The driving light is pleasantly homogeneous and therefore very high-quality in a technical sense. The fact that the M99 Tail Light 2 is also the first road-approved tail light with a perfectly homogeneous signature makes it even more attractive. This turns a necessary functional element into a cleanly designed bike component, that is practically invisible compared to conventional external rear lights, making it blend harmoniously into the basic design of an e-bike.

After the intensive development work here at Supernova, we’re overjoyed to win this prestigious award. Serial production has already started and we’ll soon see the new M99 taillights on the road.

Text: Mary Jaksch Ι Pictures: David Schultheiss

SUPERNOVA LIGHTS donates to Plant-for-the-Planet

Plant-for-the-Planet plants in Seefeld

TREES FOR GIFTS

For this year’s Christmas season we at Supernova have come up with something special: We will go without Christmas presents and instead contribute to the effort to combat climate change. For our future generations, we will make the world a little greener with 1,000 new trees! How does that work? We support the Plant-for-the-Planet children’s initiative, which has been planting trees for our climate for eleven years.

The children’s initiative Plant-for-the-Planet

Felix Finkbeiner von Plant-for-the-Planet bei der Hamburg Klimakonferenz 2018 mit einem jungen MitstreiterThe founder of Plant-for-the-Planet is Felix Finkbeiner and in the foundation year 2007 he was only a nine-year-old. Inspired by the Kenyan activist and Nobel laureate Wangari Maathai and her commitment to Uhuru Park in Kenya, the student decided to set an example for environmental protection. Klaus Töpfer, former Federal Minister of the Environment and Chairman of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP), became the patron of the boy’s project. In 2008, as a UNEP Junior Board Member, Felix declared to the EU Parliament: “Every child knows that it is urgent to act”.

Every child knows that it is urgent to act

One year later, at the UNEP Children and Youth Conference in South Korea, Felix called for action and several hundred children from 56 countries stormed the stage to support him in his cause. India, Ghana, Indonesia, Mexico, Germany – Over 100,000 child ambassadors around the world are now involved in Plant-for-the-Planet and Felix’s tree mission for the climate.

More than 15 billion trees all over the world are the outcome of the initiative until now. In collaboration with scientists at Yale University, Felix from Plant-for-the-Planet has learned that the earth is covered with 3,000 billion trees. His goal is to plant another 1,000 billion trees so that one quarter of the CO² produced by humans can be absorbed. 150 trees per person must be added to the existing 450 trees. To see exactly how many trees have been planted to date, visit the tree counter on the website and see for yourself.

Plant a tree yourself

You would like to contribute to this goal? You have two options: Make a tree donation in your name! Give a tree voucher to another person, which can be redeemed personally on the website. And talk about it!

Further information about the project HERE

 

 

Plant-for-the-planet certificate Supernova Design GmbH & Co. KG

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Pictures: Plant-for-the-Planet

WE WISH YOU JOYFUL HOLIDAYS, A HAPPY NEW YEAR AND SUCCESS IN 2019!

______________

German Innovation Gold Award für das M99 Tail Light 2

Supernova Design erhielt den German Innovation GOLD Award für das M99 Tail Light 2. Die Jury war beeindruckt von der Innovation dieses E-Bike Rücklichts.

Als Mitglied des erlesenen Kreises der Gewinner des Gold Awards, überzeugte Supernova mit dem M99 Tail Light 2 im Bereich »E-Mobility«. In der Begründung schrieb die Jury: »Das E-Bike gewinnt als Fortbewegungsmittel im modernen Straßenverkehr zunehmend an Bedeutung. Das innovative M99 Tail Light 2 PRO vereint Rück- und Bremslicht in einem robusten Aluminiumgehäuse und ermöglicht als strukturelles Teil des Gepäckträgers die harmonische Integration in das Fahrraddesign. Besonders hervorzuheben ist der minimalistische Designansatz in Verbindung mit einer besonders hohen Lichtqualität. Ein formal und funktional bis ins Detail überzeugendes Produkt, das die Sicherheit erhöht und zugleich die gestalterischen Möglichkeiten von E-Bike-Designern erweitert.«

Das M99 Tail Light 2 PRO ist das erste straßenzugelassene Rücklicht mit einer derart homogenen Lichtsignatur. Die Leuchtdichte der äußeren Linie ist ein absolutes Novum und das markante Bremslicht mit fünffacher Helligkeit sorgt elegant im Zentrum integriert für Aufmerksamkeit. Der Aluminiumkörper kann als struktureller Teil des Gepäckträgers verwendet werden und eröffnet Raddesignern vollkommen neue Möglichkeiten: Ein Teil, das bisher nur eine Notwendigkeit war, wird zu einer Stilkomponente, die die Attraktivität des E-Bikes erhöht und gleichzeitig die Sicherheit verbessert.

Mit dem German Innovation Award zeichnet der Rat für Formgebung zukunftsweisende Innovationen aus, die nachhaltig Wirkung zeigen und für den Nutzer einen Mehrwert bieten. Insgesamt gab es diesmal 700 Einreichungen, von Branchenriesen, Hidden Champions und Start-ups.

»Im Mittelpunkt der Bewertung der eingereichten Innovationen steht die Nutzerzentrierung. Sie ist das Differenzierungsmerkmal des German Innovation Award«, erklärt Lutz Dietzold, Geschäftsführer des Rat für Formgebung. »Besonders gut gelingt das, wenn die künftigen Nutzer frühzeitig in die Produkt- und Designentwicklung involviert werden. Viele Unternehmen haben das erkannt und setzen auf entsprechende Methoden, um echte Kundenbedürfnisse zu erkennen und darauf aufbauend wirtschaftlich relevante Produkt zu entwickeln. Immer wichtiger für den künftigen Erfolg neuer Entwicklungen ist dabei die Verschmelzung von analogen und digitalen Innovationen.«

Wie sind die Bewertungskriterien?

Die Bewertungskriterien des German Innovation Award umfassen Themen wie Innovationshöhe, Anwendernutzen und Wirtschaftlichkeit. Die Innovationsstrategie sollte Aspekte wie soziale, ökologische, ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit und den Energie- und Ressourceneinsatz berücksichtigen. Auch Faktoren wie Standort- und Beschäftigungspotenzial, Langlebigkeit, Marktreife, technische Qualität und Funktion, Materialität und Synergieeffekte spielen eine entscheidende Rolle im Jurierungsprozess. Über die Gewinner hat eine hochkarätig besetzte Jury entschieden – darunter Physiker, Patentberater, Informatiker, Finanzierungspezialisten, Produktdesigner, Technologie-Historiker und Marketeers. »Damit garantieren wir eine individuelle, neutrale und professionelle Bewertung«, betont Dietzold.

Weitere Informationen zum
M99 TAIL LIGHT 2
M99 TAIL LIGHT 2 PRO (mit Bremslicht)

Text: Mary Jaksch, Gregor Arndt, Rat für Formgebung | Bildmaterial: Rat für Formgebung, David Schultheiss, Bixs

Für Fitness, Freundschaft und einen guten Zweck: Radfahren mal anders

Fährst du gerne Rad?

Hier bei Supernova sind wir alle begeisterte Fahrradfans. Als Mitarbeiterin finde ich es klasse, dass Supernova nicht nur Profis, sondern auch Hobbyfahrer wie mich sponsert.

Als Mitglied unseres kleinen neuseeländischen Teams wurde ich kürzlich, zusammen mit  David ‚Dynamo‘ Bagshaw, von Supernova unterstützt, um mit 40 anderen Radlern eine Charity-Tour entlang Neuseelands berühmtestem Radweg, dem 300 Kilometer langen Alps2ocean Cycle Trail, zu fahren. Dieser beginnt in den neuseeländischen Alpen und endet am Pazifischen Ozean.

David und ich sammelten Spenden für World Bicycle Relief, deren Hilfsprojekt stabile Buffalo Bikes für Menschen in ländlichen Gegenden Afrikas bereitstellt. Mit ihrer Spende konnte Supernova ein komplettes Buffalo Bike nach Afrika schicken! Dieses Fahrrad wird es nun einem Kind ermöglichen, sicher zur Schule zu fahren und wird auch seiner Familie helfen, Wasser zu holen und Produkte zum Markt zu fahren.

Die Alps2Ocean-Fahrt wurde von Craig Shipton von 25000Spins organisiert, der coole Charity-Tours auf der ganzen Welt durchführt. Es tut gut für Fitness, Freundschaft und einen guten Zweck zu fahren! Wenn du vom Radfahren in Neuseeland träumst, schau dir die folgenden Fotos der Tour an.

Lake Tekapo. Foto: Ryan McCutcheon

Der erste Tag war eine 98 km lange Fahrt vom türkisfarbenen Lake Tekapo zum Lake Ohau, der in einem unberührten alpinen Tal, umgeben von dramatischen Gletscherbergen, liegt.

Lake Ohau. Foto: Ryan McCutcheon

Vom Lake Ohau aus ging es kurz vor Dämmerung los. Unsere brillante Airstream 2 beleuchtete den steinigen Trail, der steil aufwärts führte.

Foto: Bryan Rowe

Vom Tarnbrae High Point zurückblickend, konnte man einen Blick von Mount Cook, dem höchsten Berg Neuseelands, erhaschen.

Foto: Ryan McCutcheon

Im Tal erwartete uns das Begleitfahrzeug mit Obst, Energieriegeln und Wasser.

Foto: Ryan McCutcheon

Als wir uns der Zivilisation näherten, machte das Supernova-Team einen Umweg auf Schotterstraßen.

Foto: Trent Watson

Hier ragen die dramatischen Clay Cliffs vom Talboden empor. 

Foto: Trent Watson

Im Laufe der Tage veränderte sich die Landschaft. Wir ließen die schneebedeckte Berge hinter uns und fuhren durch lange Täler mit breiten Flüssen.

Foto: Ryan McCutcheon

Hier konnten sich die Teilnehmer im frischen Wasser abkühlen.

Foto: Ryan McCutcheon

Am letzten Tag führte der Trail teilweise durch einen stillgelegten Eisenbahntunnel. Eine Gruppe von Fahrern folgte dicht hinter uns, um das Licht unserer hellen Airstream 2 zu nutzen.

Schließlich erreichte das Supernova-Team nach fünf Tagen die betriebsame Hafenstadt Oamaru: etwas müde, aber in Hochstimmung.

 

Wir danken den Fotografen und dem Organisator der Tour, Craig Shipton von 25000Spins für die Erlaubnis, die Fotos der Tour zu verwenden.

 

Ein YouTube Video von der Tour findet ihr HIER.

Text: Mary Jaksch | Bildmaterial: Ryan McCutcheon, Trent Watson, Byan Rowe

430 km und 6300 Höhenmeter in 24 Stunden

Lukas Kaufmann holt den 4. Platz beim größten 24 Stunden MTB Rennen der USA mit dem neusten SUPERNOVA Scheinwerfer.

Lukas Kaufmann ist ein supertalentierter junger Mountainbiker, der schon einiges Aufsehen erregt hat. Seit diesem Jahr wird er von Supernova gesponsert und hat beim diesjährigen “24 HOURS IN THE OLD PUEBLO” in Tucson, Arizona den 4. Platz erobert. Das Fernlicht des neuen SUPERNOVA M99 MINI PRO B54 hat ihn total begeistert.

Supernova-1 Kopie

Die Rennstrecke ist mitten in der Wüste, wo es nur Sand, Steine und Kakteen gibt. Lukas startete in der Kategorie Solo. Er fuhr in 24 Stunden unglaubliche 430 Kilometer und 6.300 Höhenmeter, fast ohne Unterbrechung. Am Tag was es 30 Grad heiß und nachts wurde es so kalt, dass er seine Zehen nicht mehr spüren konnte.

Lukas Kaufmann war 2018 bester Österreicher bei der Ultra-Mountainbike-Marathon-Europameisterschaft, siegte 2019 beim Appenninica-MTB-Stage-Race in Italien und wurde dritter beim härtesten Mountainbike-Marathon Europas der Salzkammergut-Trophy. Supernova ist stolz darauf, ihn zu sponsern.

Supernova-3

Text: Mary Jaksch | Bildmaterial: Sportograf | Instagram: lukaskaufmann94

“Absolute Innovation”: M99 Tail Light 2 gewinnt den German Design Award 2020 in Gold!

Supernova ist wieder Preisträger!

CEO und Designer Marcus Wallmeyer und Michael Fitzek, ein Elektronikingenieur von Supernova, waren heute in Frankfurt bei der Preisverleihung des German Design Award 2020 um den Gold Award für das neue Supernova Rücklicht M99 Tail Light 2 entgegenzunehmen.

Der German Design Award ist einer der angesehensten Design-Auszeichnungen der Welt und genießt weit über die Fachwelt hinaus ein hervorragendes Renommee. Mit dem GOLD Award wurde Supernova für hervorragendes Produktdesign als der Beste seiner Branche ausgezeichnet.

Das M99 Tail Light 2 ist ein revolutionäres E-Bike Rücklicht mit integriertem Bremslicht. Es kommt eine innovative Lichttechnologie zum Einsatz, die den Sicherheitsstandard auf ein völlig neues Level hebt. Hier ist die Jurybegründung für den GOLD Award:

Das in den Gepäckträger integrierte Rücklicht kombiniert Fahr- und Bremslicht mit fünffacher Helligkeit und stellt in seiner Art eine absolute Innovation dar. Das Fahrlicht ist angenehm homogen und wirkt dadurch auch technisch sehr hochwertig. Dass das M99 Tail Light 2 auch das erste straßenzugelassene Rücklicht mit einer perfekt homogenen Signatur darstellt, macht es nur noch attraktiver. Hier wird aus einem notwendigen Funktionselement eine sauber gestaltete Bike-Komponente, die im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen externen Rücklichtern formal praktisch unsichtbar bleibt und sich dadurch in das Grunddesign des E-Bikes harmonisch einfügt.

 

Nach der sehr intensiven Entwicklungsarbeit ist das Supernova Team überglücklich, dass wir diesen renommierten Preis gewonnen haben. Gleichzeitig freuen wir uns, dass die Serienproduktion losgegangen ist und wir demnächst die neuen M99 Rücklichter auf der Strasse sehen werden.

Text: Mary Jaksch Ι Bildmaterial: David Schultheiss

SUPERNOVA LIGHTS spendet an Plant-for-the-Planet

Plant-for-the-Planet pflanzt in Seefeld

BÄUME STATT GESCHENKE

Für die diesjährige Weihnachtszeit haben wir uns bei Supernova etwas Besonderes ausgedacht: Wir verzichten auf Weihnachtsgeschenke und tragen stattdessen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels bei. Für unsere zukünftigen Generationen werden wir die Welt mit 1.000 neuen Bäumen ein bisschen grüner machen! Wie das geht? Wir unterstützen die Kinder- und Jugendinitiative Plant-for-the-Planet, die seit elf Jahren Bäume für unser Klima pflanzt.

Die Kinder- und Jugend-Initiative Plant-for-the-Planet

Felix Finkbeiner von Plant-for-the-Planet bei der Hamburg Klimakonferenz 2018 mit einem jungen MitstreiterDer Plant-for-the-Planet Gründer heißt Felix Finkbeiner und im Gründungsjahr 2007 war er gerade einmal neun Jahre alt. Inspiriert von der kenianischen Aktivistin und Nobelpreisträgerin Wangari Maathai und ihrem Einsatz für den Uhuru Park in Kenia beschließt der Schüler, selbst ein Zeichen für den Umweltschutz zu setzen. Der ehemalige Bundesumweltminister und Vorsitzender des UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Klaus Töpfer nimmt sich als Schirmherr des Projektes der Idee des Jungen an. 2008 erklärt Felix als UNEP Junior Board Member vor dem EU Parlament: „Every child knows that it‘s urgent to act“ (Jedes Kind weiß, dass wir dringend handeln müssen).

Every child knows that it‘s urgent to act

Ein Jahr später auf der UNEP Kinder- und Jugendkonferenz in Südkorea ruft Felix zu seiner Aktion auf und mehrere hundert Kinder aus 56 Ländern stürmen die Bühne, um ihn in seiner Sache zu unterstützen. Indien, Ghana, Indonesien, Mexiko, Deutschland – Über 100.000 Kinderbotschafter engagieren sich inzwischen auf der ganzen Welt bei Plant-for-the-Planet in Felix’ Baummission für das Klima.

Über 15 Milliarden Bäume auf der ganzen Welt gehen bereits auf die Initiative zurück. Mit den Wissenschaftlern der Yale University hat Felix von Plant-for-the-Planet herausgefunden, dass die Erde mit 3 000 Milliarden Bäumen bewachsen ist. Sein Ziel: weitere 1 000 Milliarden Bäume pflanzen und so ein Viertel des von Menschen erzeugten CO² aufnehmen. 150 Bäume pro Mensch müssen zu den bestehenden 450 Bäumen dazukommen. Um zu sehen, wie viele Bäume genau bis heute gepflanzt worden sind, besuche den Baumzähler auf der Webseite und überzeuge dich selbst.

Pflanze einen Baum

Du möchtest gerne zu diesem Ziel beitragen? Dann gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten: Mache eine Baumspende in deinem Namen! Verschenke einen Baumgutschein an eine andere Person, der persönlich auf der Webseite eingelöst werden kann. Und rede darüber!

Alle weiteren Informationen zu dem Projekt findest du HIER

 

 

Plant-for-the-planet Zertifikat Supernova Design GmbH & Co. KG

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Bildmaterial: Plant-for-the-Planet

WIR WÜNSCHEN DIR FROHE FESTTAGE, EINEN GUTEN JAHRESWECHSEL UND ERFOLG IM JAHR 2019!

______________