430km and 6,300km elevation gain in 24 hours

Lukas Kaufmann places 4th in the toughest 24-hour mountain bike race in the USA, using the latest SUPERNOVA front light.

Lukas Kaufmann is a talented young mountain biker who has already caused quite a stir.  SUPERNOVA has sponsored him since the start of 2020. He placed 4th in this year’s “24 HOURS IN THE OLD PUEBLO” in Tucson, Arizona, whilst using the new SUPERNOVA M99 MINI PRO B54 and was thrilled by the extreme brightness of the high beam.

Supernova-1 Kopie

The race track is in the middle of the desert, where there is nothing but sand, stones, and cacti. Lukas took part in the ‘solo’ category.  Over 24 hours, he rode an incredible distance of 430km, with hardly a stop, gaining an elevation of 6,300 meters. By day, he had to battle a temperature of 30 degrees celsius. At night, it got so cold he couldn’t feel his toes.

Lukas Kaufmann was best Austrian at the European Ultra Mountain Bike Marathon Championship in 2018, won the Appenninica MTB Stage Race in Italy in 2019, and came third in the toughest mountain bike marathon in Europe, the Salzkammergut Trophy. Supernova is proud to sponsor him.

Supernova-3

Text: Mary Jaksch | Pictures: Sportograf | Instagram: lukaskaufmann94

INTERVIEW WITH FOUNDER AND CEO OF SUPERNOVA DESIGN, MARCUS WALLMEYER.

At least: politicians put a rising value on cycling.
Of all bicycle components, bicycle lights have been the most innovative in recent years. What is the reason for this? What does the future of cycling lighting look like? Interview with Supernova CEO Marcus Wallmeyer.

Why has lighting been the most innovative bicycle component in recent years?

In the last few years, bicycle lighting has gone through revolutionary changes, especially for e-bikes. Lighting changes have increased the safety of riders considerably, both at night and during the day.

These days, daytime running lights have become standard. The ultimate innovation, however, is the high beam. Everyone who drives a car uses a high beam and wouldn’t want to miss it. But for bicycles, a controllable high and low beam is a leap of innovation as significant as adding the first suspension forks on mountain bikes was.

Why is society putting a higher value on cycling?

In recent years, road safety legislation has permitted numerous innovations that enhance safety. It seems that politicians are finally affording cycling an increasing value because it is the most environmentally friendly means of transport. These changes have given lighting manufacturers completely new options, which has created enormous innovative power. But there is still a lot to be done, especially for bicycles without electric power. It would be essential to work on legislation for dynamos because there is not enough power for a high beam. This limitation is not due to technology, but due to the regulations. That is why I would like the legislators to continue implementing the ideas we propose through the Bicycle Industry Association.

Another reason for the higher value of cycling is that it has taken on a completely different significance in society. Years ago, talented light designers were simply swallowed up by the car industry. Nowadays, it’s ‘cool’ to work for the bicycle industry. You can find talented developers who are also bicycle enthusiasts. An excellent basis for innovation is working with people who are passionate about developing products that enhance their rides in their leisure time or on their way to work. The technology for developing new products is also now very advanced, which significantly shortens development cycles.

What about innovations related to cooling measures and more LEDs?

The phenomenal increase in brightness is due to the use of better cooling strategies as well as the use of more LEDs. It’s also possible to increase brightness due to complex light calculations and by optimizing the surface quality of the reflectors and lenses. Here at Supernova, we have been able to increase the brightness of headlights by 700% in the last three years.

What is the latest trend in tail lights?

The new trend is moving toward homogenous light with high luminance. Wafer-thin luminous lines make the tail light a styling element for bicycle designers. In the future, the tail light will become a light signature that makes a bike look stylish and makes it safer. Brake lights are also becoming increasingly popular.

What does the future hold for bicycle lights?

I think the integration of lights into the overall design of a bike will develop rapidly, as will the technical integration into the drive system. Bicycle manufacturers will use lighting as a design element to stand out from the crowd.

In particular, the e-mountain bike will probably come with lights ex-works in the future with bright power headlights integrated into a design that matches the brand’s corporate identity.

Click here for the interview at www.radfahren.de

 

“Absolute innovation”: M99 Tail Light 2 wins the German Design Award GOLD 2020

Supernova is a prizewinner. Again!

CEO and Designer Marcus Wallmeyer and Michael Fitzek, one of Supernova’s electronic engineers, were in Frankfurt today at the German Design Award 2020 ceremony to accept the Gold Award won by Supernova’s new M99 Tail Light 2.

The German Design Award is one of the most prestigious design awards in the world and enjoys an excellent reputation far beyond the professional world. With the GOLD Award, Supernova was honored for outstanding product design as the best in its industry.

The M99 Tail Light 2 is a revolutionary e-bike tail light with integrated brake light. It uses an innovative light technology, which raises safety standards to a whole new level. Here is the judges’ statement for the GOLD Award:

The rear light integrated into the luggage carrier combines driving and stop light at five times more brightness and represents an absolute innovation in its class. The driving light is pleasantly homogeneous and therefore very high-quality in a technical sense. The fact that the M99 Tail Light 2 is also the first road-approved tail light with a perfectly homogeneous signature makes it even more attractive. This turns a necessary functional element into a cleanly designed bike component, that is practically invisible compared to conventional external rear lights, making it blend harmoniously into the basic design of an e-bike.

After the intensive development work here at Supernova, we’re overjoyed to win this prestigious award. Serial production has already started and we’ll soon see the new M99 taillights on the road.

Text: Mary Jaksch Ι Pictures: David Schultheiss

SUPERNOVA LIGHTS donates to Plant-for-the-Planet

Plant-for-the-Planet plants in Seefeld

TREES FOR GIFTS

For this year’s Christmas season we at Supernova have come up with something special: We will go without Christmas presents and instead contribute to the effort to combat climate change. For our future generations, we will make the world a little greener with 1,000 new trees! How does that work? We support the Plant-for-the-Planet children’s initiative, which has been planting trees for our climate for eleven years.

The children’s initiative Plant-for-the-Planet

Felix Finkbeiner von Plant-for-the-Planet bei der Hamburg Klimakonferenz 2018 mit einem jungen MitstreiterThe founder of Plant-for-the-Planet is Felix Finkbeiner and in the foundation year 2007 he was only a nine-year-old. Inspired by the Kenyan activist and Nobel laureate Wangari Maathai and her commitment to Uhuru Park in Kenya, the student decided to set an example for environmental protection. Klaus Töpfer, former Federal Minister of the Environment and Chairman of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP), became the patron of the boy’s project. In 2008, as a UNEP Junior Board Member, Felix declared to the EU Parliament: “Every child knows that it is urgent to act”.

Every child knows that it is urgent to act

One year later, at the UNEP Children and Youth Conference in South Korea, Felix called for action and several hundred children from 56 countries stormed the stage to support him in his cause. India, Ghana, Indonesia, Mexico, Germany – Over 100,000 child ambassadors around the world are now involved in Plant-for-the-Planet and Felix’s tree mission for the climate.

More than 15 billion trees all over the world are the outcome of the initiative until now. In collaboration with scientists at Yale University, Felix from Plant-for-the-Planet has learned that the earth is covered with 3,000 billion trees. His goal is to plant another 1,000 billion trees so that one quarter of the CO² produced by humans can be absorbed. 150 trees per person must be added to the existing 450 trees. To see exactly how many trees have been planted to date, visit the tree counter on the website and see for yourself.

Plant a tree yourself

You would like to contribute to this goal? You have two options: Make a tree donation in your name! Give a tree voucher to another person, which can be redeemed personally on the website. And talk about it!

Further information about the project HERE

 

 

Plant-for-the-planet certificate Supernova Design GmbH & Co. KG

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Pictures: Plant-for-the-Planet

WE WISH YOU JOYFUL HOLIDAYS, A HAPPY NEW YEAR AND SUCCESS IN 2019!

______________

430 km und 6300 Höhenmeter in 24 Stunden

Lukas Kaufmann holt den 4. Platz beim größten 24 Stunden MTB Rennen der USA mit dem neusten SUPERNOVA Scheinwerfer.

Lukas Kaufmann ist ein supertalentierter junger Mountainbiker, der schon einiges Aufsehen erregt hat. Seit diesem Jahr wird er von Supernova gesponsert und hat beim diesjährigen “24 HOURS IN THE OLD PUEBLO” in Tucson, Arizona den 4. Platz erobert. Das Fernlicht des neuen SUPERNOVA M99 MINI PRO B54 hat ihn total begeistert.

Supernova-1 Kopie

Die Rennstrecke ist mitten in der Wüste, wo es nur Sand, Steine und Kakteen gibt. Lukas startete in der Kategorie Solo. Er fuhr in 24 Stunden unglaubliche 430 Kilometer und 6.300 Höhenmeter, fast ohne Unterbrechung. Am Tag was es 30 Grad heiß und nachts wurde es so kalt, dass er seine Zehen nicht mehr spüren konnte.

Lukas Kaufmann war 2018 bester Österreicher bei der Ultra-Mountainbike-Marathon-Europameisterschaft, siegte 2019 beim Appenninica-MTB-Stage-Race in Italien und wurde dritter beim härtesten Mountainbike-Marathon Europas der Salzkammergut-Trophy. Supernova ist stolz darauf, ihn zu sponsern.

Supernova-3

Text: Mary Jaksch | Bildmaterial: Sportograf | Instagram: lukaskaufmann94

INTERVIEW MIT SUPERNOVA-GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER ÜBER INNOVATIONEN

„Die Politik hat endlich für das Fahrrad höhere Prioritäten gesetzt“
Beim Fahrradlicht sind in den letzten Jahren unter allen Radkomponenten mit am meisten Innovationen präsentiert worden. Woran liegt das? Wie sieht die Zukunft der Beleuchtung beim Radfahren aus? Supernova-Geschäftsführer Marcus Wallmeyer im Interview.

Hat das Fahrradlicht bei Radkomponenten den größten Innovationssprung gemacht?

Supernova-Geschäftsführer Marcus Wallmeyer: Im Fahrradlicht-Bereich hat sich auf jeden Fall in den letzten Jahren enorm viel Grundlegendes geändert, speziell bei E-Bike-Beleuchtung kommt aktuell eine „Lichtrevolution“ nach der anderen, was vom Markt gerne angenommen wird. Die Sicherheit für den Radfahrer ist in der Nacht und auch am Tag erheblich gestiegen.

Heutzutage ist es völlig normal, dass viele tagsüber mit Tagfahrlicht unterwegs sind. Die ultimative Innovation ist allerdings das Fernlicht. Jeder kennt es vom Auto und keiner will es dort missen. Steuerbares Fern- und Abblendlicht ist vom Innovationssprung ähnlich wie die erste Federgabel am Mountainbike.

Stellenwert des Radfahrens in der Gesellschaft

Woran liegt das?

Die Gesetzeslage hat in den letzten Jahren zahlreiche sicherheitsrelevante Neuerungen zugelassen, die den Lichtherstellern völlig neue Möglichkeiten gegeben haben. Die Politik hat für das umweltfreundlichste Verkehrsmittel endlich höhere Prioritäten gesetzt. Das sorgt für die enorme Innovationspower. Aber es kann besonders für das Fahrrad ohne Motor noch einiges getan werden. Aktuell wäre es an der Zeit, an der Gesetzgebung für Dynamos zu arbeiten. Für Fernlicht fehlt hier einfach die Leistung. Das liegt nicht an der Technik, sondern am Regelwerk. Deshalb würde ich mir wünschen, dass der Gesetzgeber weiter die Ideen, die wir vorschlagen (z.B. über den Zweirad-Industrie-Verband), umsetzt.

Es gibt allerdings noch einen zweiten Grund: Radfahren hat in der Gesellschaft einen ganz anderen Stellenwert bekommen. Vor vielen Jahren war es schwer, gute Leute zu finden, um gute Fahrradbeleuchtung zu entwickeln. Die Autoindustrie hatte die Besten einfach „geschluckt“. Heutzutage ist es „cool“, für die Fahrradindustrie zu arbeiten. Man findet extrem gute Entwickler, die Fahrradenthusiasten sind. Das ist die Grundlage für Innovation: Menschen, die mit Leidenschaft Produkte entwickeln wollen, die sie in ihrer Freizeit und auf dem Arbeitsweg mit dem Rad nutzen können. Die Technik zur Neuentwicklung von Produkten ist auch weit fortgeschritten. Das verkürzt Entwicklungszyklen deutlich.

Marcus Wallmeyer (43), Geschäftsführer Supernova Design GMBH & CO KG. spricht im Interview mit aktiv Radfahren über die Entwicklungen beim Fahrradlicht

Innovationen beim Fahrradlicht: Kühlmaßnahmen und mehr LEDs

Der eklatante Helligkeits-Gewinn …

… ist zu begründen mit dem Einsatz besserer Kühlmaßnahmen und mehr verbauter LEDs. Zusätzlich wird die Ausleuchtung durch aufwändige Lichtberechnungen und Optimierungen der Oberflächenqualität der Reflektoren und Linsen immer besser. Hier konnten wir bei Topscheinwerfern in den letzten drei Jahren die Helligkeit um 700 % erhöhen.

Die Trends beim Rücklicht?

In Zukunft ist homogenes Licht mit hoher Leuchtdichte der klare Trend. Hauchdünne leuchtende Linien machen das Rücklicht zum Stylingelement für Fahrraddesigner. In Zukunft wird das Rücklicht zu einer Design-Lichtsignatur, die das Rad nicht nur chic macht, sondern auch sicherer. Bremslicht wird auch immer mehr gefragt.

Fahrradlicht: Wie sieht die Zukunft aus?

Wohin geht die Zukunft beim Fahrradlicht?

Die optische Integration ins Gesamtdesign des Rades wird stark voranschreiten und auch die technische Einbindung in das Antriebssystem. Die Fahrradhersteller werden das Licht als Designelement nutzen, um aus der Masse hervorzustechen.

Besonders das E-Mountainbike wird in Zukunft wohl schon ab Werk größtenteils mit Licht kommen, und zwar mit hellen Powerscheinwerfern, die gestalterisch passend zur Corporate Identity der Marke integriert werden.

 

Hier geht es zum Interview auf www.radfahren.de

“Absolute Innovation”: M99 Tail Light 2 gewinnt den German Design Award 2020 in Gold!

Supernova ist wieder Preisträger!

CEO und Designer Marcus Wallmeyer und Michael Fitzek, ein Elektronikingenieur von Supernova, waren heute in Frankfurt bei der Preisverleihung des German Design Award 2020 um den Gold Award für das neue Supernova Rücklicht M99 Tail Light 2 entgegenzunehmen.

Der German Design Award ist einer der angesehensten Design-Auszeichnungen der Welt und genießt weit über die Fachwelt hinaus ein hervorragendes Renommee. Mit dem GOLD Award wurde Supernova für hervorragendes Produktdesign als der Beste seiner Branche ausgezeichnet.

Das M99 Tail Light 2 ist ein revolutionäres E-Bike Rücklicht mit integriertem Bremslicht. Es kommt eine innovative Lichttechnologie zum Einsatz, die den Sicherheitsstandard auf ein völlig neues Level hebt. Hier ist die Jurybegründung für den GOLD Award:

Das in den Gepäckträger integrierte Rücklicht kombiniert Fahr- und Bremslicht mit fünffacher Helligkeit und stellt in seiner Art eine absolute Innovation dar. Das Fahrlicht ist angenehm homogen und wirkt dadurch auch technisch sehr hochwertig. Dass das M99 Tail Light 2 auch das erste straßenzugelassene Rücklicht mit einer perfekt homogenen Signatur darstellt, macht es nur noch attraktiver. Hier wird aus einem notwendigen Funktionselement eine sauber gestaltete Bike-Komponente, die im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen externen Rücklichtern formal praktisch unsichtbar bleibt und sich dadurch in das Grunddesign des E-Bikes harmonisch einfügt.

 

Nach der sehr intensiven Entwicklungsarbeit ist das Supernova Team überglücklich, dass wir diesen renommierten Preis gewonnen haben. Gleichzeitig freuen wir uns, dass die Serienproduktion losgegangen ist und wir demnächst die neuen M99 Rücklichter auf der Strasse sehen werden.

Text: Mary Jaksch Ι Bildmaterial: David Schultheiss

SUPERNOVA LIGHTS spendet an Plant-for-the-Planet

Plant-for-the-Planet pflanzt in Seefeld

BÄUME STATT GESCHENKE

Für die diesjährige Weihnachtszeit haben wir uns bei Supernova etwas Besonderes ausgedacht: Wir verzichten auf Weihnachtsgeschenke und tragen stattdessen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels bei. Für unsere zukünftigen Generationen werden wir die Welt mit 1.000 neuen Bäumen ein bisschen grüner machen! Wie das geht? Wir unterstützen die Kinder- und Jugendinitiative Plant-for-the-Planet, die seit elf Jahren Bäume für unser Klima pflanzt.

Die Kinder- und Jugend-Initiative Plant-for-the-Planet

Felix Finkbeiner von Plant-for-the-Planet bei der Hamburg Klimakonferenz 2018 mit einem jungen MitstreiterDer Plant-for-the-Planet Gründer heißt Felix Finkbeiner und im Gründungsjahr 2007 war er gerade einmal neun Jahre alt. Inspiriert von der kenianischen Aktivistin und Nobelpreisträgerin Wangari Maathai und ihrem Einsatz für den Uhuru Park in Kenia beschließt der Schüler, selbst ein Zeichen für den Umweltschutz zu setzen. Der ehemalige Bundesumweltminister und Vorsitzender des UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Klaus Töpfer nimmt sich als Schirmherr des Projektes der Idee des Jungen an. 2008 erklärt Felix als UNEP Junior Board Member vor dem EU Parlament: „Every child knows that it‘s urgent to act“ (Jedes Kind weiß, dass wir dringend handeln müssen).

Every child knows that it‘s urgent to act

Ein Jahr später auf der UNEP Kinder- und Jugendkonferenz in Südkorea ruft Felix zu seiner Aktion auf und mehrere hundert Kinder aus 56 Ländern stürmen die Bühne, um ihn in seiner Sache zu unterstützen. Indien, Ghana, Indonesien, Mexiko, Deutschland – Über 100.000 Kinderbotschafter engagieren sich inzwischen auf der ganzen Welt bei Plant-for-the-Planet in Felix’ Baummission für das Klima.

Über 15 Milliarden Bäume auf der ganzen Welt gehen bereits auf die Initiative zurück. Mit den Wissenschaftlern der Yale University hat Felix von Plant-for-the-Planet herausgefunden, dass die Erde mit 3 000 Milliarden Bäumen bewachsen ist. Sein Ziel: weitere 1 000 Milliarden Bäume pflanzen und so ein Viertel des von Menschen erzeugten CO² aufnehmen. 150 Bäume pro Mensch müssen zu den bestehenden 450 Bäumen dazukommen. Um zu sehen, wie viele Bäume genau bis heute gepflanzt worden sind, besuche den Baumzähler auf der Webseite und überzeuge dich selbst.

Pflanze einen Baum

Du möchtest gerne zu diesem Ziel beitragen? Dann gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten: Mache eine Baumspende in deinem Namen! Verschenke einen Baumgutschein an eine andere Person, der persönlich auf der Webseite eingelöst werden kann. Und rede darüber!

Alle weiteren Informationen zu dem Projekt findest du HIER

 

 

Plant-for-the-planet Zertifikat Supernova Design GmbH & Co. KG

Text: Myriel Hauser Ι Bildmaterial: Plant-for-the-Planet

WIR WÜNSCHEN DIR FROHE FESTTAGE, EINEN GUTEN JAHRESWECHSEL UND ERFOLG IM JAHR 2019!

______________